P E R S O N A L || Weight Loss Journey :: Update

It’s been about a month since I decided to be transparent about my struggle with losing weight and keeping it off.

When I started, I had lost 14 lbs. That number remains the same. Even with cutting out most gluten (except for rare splurges with friends…..very rare) and eating masses of lean proteins and vegetables, AND adding in 20 minute walks with Liam twice a week, (I’d do more, but my knee already hates this part!) I’m just chilling there, in the same spot.

It got so distressing and discouraging I spoke with my doctor, who recommended that we get a dietician that he trusted on board, as well as run tests to see if my body is trying to tell me something! He’s a pretty smart doctor, you guys, and I’m a fan of him, so we’ll see what he says.

In the meantime, I’m feeling discouraged. And, frankly, I’m bored. I spend hours and hours in the kitchen juicing, slicing, dicing, cleaning vegetables, cleaning the kitchen, and frankly, it’s killing me. Liam absolutely *hates* it.

I wish there was an easier way to do this that didn’t involve taking tons of time to make all these dishes and foods, you know? I’m a mom with two businesses and a husband in school–this is really beginning to hinder me! My doctor asked about my eating and exercise history, and agrees that most of my work should be directed and continuing to eat healthy, and as I lose weight, my knee will no doubt be more capable of handling more work.

You can keep up with my food-eating adventures on Instagram!

http://www.instagram.com/shmilyface

And here’s a look back at some of my favorite captures from last month!

2014-04-03_0001

What about you guys? Anyone ever find themselves so close the beginning, but struggling so hard? What do you do? How do you change up your routine? And do you have any time-saving tips? I’m scouring the internet anyways, but I’d love your thoughts and tips and personal stories of success OR failure! I think there’s an amazing opportunity to learn from both!

2 thoughts on “P E R S O N A L || Weight Loss Journey :: Update

  1. Good job on living a healthy lifestyle and I’m sorry the scale is being a stinker! How you tried adding in some strength training? I know you’re really busy, but building muscle is said to boost your metabolism and burn more calories. Just a thought. Good job and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

